How to Delete a Gmail Account

So can you delete a Gmail account? Yes, you can – and it’s pretty easy to do.

Sometimes you might end up with a Gmail account that you no longer need.

When your inbox is already flooded and you’re getting more emails than you can manage, you don’t want yet another email account that’s distracting you from getting your work done.

Follow the steps outlined below to learn how you can delete a Gmail account, whether that’s on desktop, iOS, or Android.

What You Need to Know Before Deleting a Gmail Account

There are a few things that you need to think about before you delete a Gmail account, including the following:

  1. When you delete a Gmail account, it’s for good. Well, pretty much (see below for more information). When you go through the process and press the button, it’s final. You’ll no longer be able to send or receive email from that Gmail address. All of the emails will be gone, all of your data will be gone, and you won’t be able to access the username again.
  2. You can download all of the data beforehand, which you’ll need to access via Google Takeout.
  3. If you signed up for any services using that email, you’ll no longer be able to reset Gmail passwords. Think carefully before deleting your account.
  4. The same goes for accounts that you signed up for using that Gmail account. It’s likely you won’t be able to access those in the future either.
  5. Deleting a Gmail account doesn’t remove other Gmail products. You’ll still be able to use Google Drive and Google Photos – it’s only the emails and the data associated with Gmail that will be deleted.

Without further ado, let’s get into the step by step guides.

Deleting a Gmail Account on Your Desktop

Step 1. You first need to log into your Google Account and head to the Management section.

Step 2. You should be able to see a grid next to your user icon. Click this, and then select the Account option.

Step 3.  On the left-hand side navigation, choose Data & personalization.

Step 4. This will open a new window. Choose Download, delete, or make a plan for your data. Then choose Delete a service.

Step 5. At this point, you may find that you have to sign in for security reasons. If prompted, do this. Then scroll down to find your Gmail account.

Step 6. Choose Delete and then follow the instructions that Google gives you to delete your account.

Deleting a Gmail Account on Your iPhone

Step 1. Make sure that you have the Gmail app on your device.

Step 2. Open up the Gmail app and then choose Menu.

Step 3. From there, select Settings followed by Your account and then finally Manage your Google account.

Step 4. Locate Data & personalization and click that.

Step 5. This will open a new window. Choose Download, delete or make a plan for your data. Then choose Delete a service.

Step 6.  At this point, you may find that you have to sign in for security reasons. If prompted, do this. Then scroll down to find your Gmail account.

Step 7. Choose Delete and then follow the instructions that Google gives you to delete your account.

Additional Reading: How to Delete all Emails on Gmail

Deleting a Gmail Account on Your Android Phone

Step 1. On your Android device, open up the Settings option.

Step 2. Scroll down and you should be able to find the Google section within Settings.

Step 3. Select Google account.

Step 4. You then need to find the Data & Personalization option. Click this.

Step 5. Choose Download, delete or make a plan for your data. Then choose Delete a service.

Step 6 Choose Delete and then follow the instructions that Google gives you to delete your account.

Can You Recover a Deleted Gmail Account?

It *might* be possible for you to recover a deleted Gmail account if you’re fast enough. Time is of the essence here.

If you’ve had a change of mind and want to try and recover a deleted Gmail account, then you can follow these steps.

Step 1. Head over to the Google Recovery page.

Step 2. Type in the email address that you are attempting to recover and click Next.

Step 3. If you get a message that the account doesn’t exist, then we’re afraid you’re out of luck. The account is fully deleted.

Step 4. If you get the prompt to add in the last known password, then you’re in luck. Enter in the password.

Step 5. You should now see a success message.

Step 6. Click on the Google Apps grid in the top right-hand corner. Select Gmail and then enter your phone number for verification purposes. Click Submit. 

Step 7. Choose how you would like to verify – either by a phone call or SMS.

Step 8. Enter the verification code that you receive.

Step 9. That’s it – you’ve managed to recover a deleted Gmail account.

Deleting a Gmail Account FAQs

What happens when I delete my Gmail account? 

While deleting your Gmail account is permanent, you do get a short period of time to recover it before all the data is gone. Have a look at the steps above for attempting to recover a deleted account.

Can I delete my Gmail account without knowing the password? 

No. You’ll need to know the password to be able to delete your Gmail account.

Should I delete my Gmail account? 

Consider why you’re thinking of deleting your Gmail account. Is it connected to any services? Are you sure that you will never need to use it again? Is there anything in the emails that you might need again in the future?

Never delete a Gmail account on a whim, because you might regret it later.

Summary

As you can see, deleting a Gmail account is all pretty straightforward. No matter which device you delete it on, the steps are easy to follow and fairly similar.

Don’t forget that deleting your Gmail account doesn’t delete your main Google account. Make sure that you know the difference – you don’t want to go in thinking that you’re deleting your Gmail account and end up accidentally deleting your Google account and all of the associated data.

INSTALLS IN 30 SECONDS — WORKS WITH CHROME, SAFARI AND FIREFOX

Start spending less time in your inbox

Add to Gmail It's free!